Gracias por su interés en los webinars de CampusPAAO. 

Estamos trabajando en el programa de webinars de 2024. 

Por favor, vuelva a esta pagina para información adicional.


Thank you for your interest in the CampusPAAO webinars. 

We are working on the 2024 webinar program.

Please check back for informaiton on future webinars.

The best of ESRCR Winter 2024
O melhor da ESCRS de Inverno 2024, Lo mejor de la ESCRS Invierno 2024

(webinar in English)

Tuesday, 05/03/2024

Click here for your local time
2pm Mexico / 3pm Miami / 4pm Venezuela / 5pm Argentina + Brazil / 8pm Portugal / 9pm Spain (CST)

The webinar aims to provide a cutting-edge overview of cataract and refractive surgery, with a specific emphasis on the topics covered at the ESCRS Winter Congress held in Frankfurt, Germany. 


Moderators: Filomena Ribeiro and Joaquin Fernandez

  • Introduction - Helena Filipe and Filomena Ribeiro
  • It´s all about intermediate - Thomas Kohnen
  • Future applications of femtosecond-laser technology - Burkhard Dick
  • Corneal refractive surgery: what I did wrong - Jorge Alió
  • How to start with premium IOLs - Laura Maubon
  • Final Discussion

PAAO Coordinator: Dr. Helena Filipe (Portugal)
ESCRS Coordinator: Filomena Ribeiro (Portugal)

Organized in conjunction with ESCRS, European Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgeons



Dr. Filomena Ribeiro MD PhD FEBO (Portugal)

• Head of the Ophthalmology Department at Hospital da Luz Lisboa
• Prof. of Ophthalmology and Biomedical Engineering at Universidade de Lisboa
• Prof. of Ophthalmology at Universidade Católica de Lisboa
• ESCRS President Elect



Dr. Joaquin Fernandez MD PhD (Spain)

Joaquín Fernández Pérez, MD, PhD is both a Medical Doctor (MD) and PhD in Physics Applied to Sciences and Technologies by the University of Alicante. Specialized in Ophthalmology and Anterior Segment Surgery: Refractive Surgery, Presbyopia, Keratoconus, and Cataracts.

Dr Fernández is the CEO and Medical Director in Ophthalmology Department at Qvisión in Vithas Virgen del Mar Hospital (Almería). He is a Patron of the Elena Barraquer Foundation with those performs two surgical expeditions per year to eradicate preventable blindness due to cataracts.

Dr Fernández is published in national and international research journals in addition to his participation in the writing of books related to the specialty. As anterior segment surgeon with a wide experience, I he conducts live surgeries and communications at many national and international ophthalmology congresses.


Dr. Thomas Kohnen (Germany)

• bio pending


Dr. Burkhard Dick MD PhD FEBOS-CR (Germany)

Burkhard Dick was born in a small town by the name of Brake in Northern Germany. After graduating from the local high school, he served for two years as a medical officer with Germany's NATO forces. He attended medical school at the University of Giessen, a city with a strong American presence during the Cold War, where he graduated in 1990, a year that saw German unification and changed Giessen's location - where he began his residency in ophthalmology - from border town at the edge of the Iron Curtain to suddenly being in the country's geographical center. 

Dick became head physician at the University Eye Hospital in 1995 before he moved to the Eye Hospital of the University of Mainz which bears the name of that city's greatest son, Johannes Gutenberg. Here he specialized in refractive and cataract surgery and became head of the hospital's Refractive Surgical Eye Care Center in 1997. Shortly after becoming a clinical professor in Mainz, the University of Bochum offered Burkhard Dick the position of head and director of its eye clinic and eye research center which he accepted in 2006. Since then, the Bochum University Eye Clinic has become an internationally renowned institution with a constant output of highly ranked research papers and clinical studies, most of them published in the Journal of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and the Journal of Refractive Surgery. 

Burkhard Dick became one of the first ophthalmic surgeons in Europe to use a femtosecond laser in cataract surgery; to date almost 12.000 eyes have been operated with that technology in Bochum. For his pioneering work, he has been awarded a number of honors like the Choyce Medal of the British Ophthalmological Society, the Gold Medal Award of the Australian Society for Cataract and Refractive Surgery, the Waring Medal of the Journal of Refractive Surgery and, most recently, the Visionary Award of the American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgery (AECOS). 

He currently serves as the Treasurer of the German Society of Cataract, Refractive and Interventional Surgery (DGII) after being President of the DGII for four years (2016- 2020). He is also the Secretary of the European Society of Cataract and refractive Surgeons (ESCRS) and a regular lecturer at international meetings like the AAO, DOG,DOC, DGII, ESCRS, APAO and ASCRS and has instructed fellows in the University Eye Hospital Bochum from 44 different countries in state-of-the-art cataract, refractive, glaucoma and vitreoretinal surgery.


Dr. Jorge Alió MD PhD FEBO (Spain)

Prof. Dr. Jorge Alio MD, PhD, FEBO is Professor and Chairman of Ophthalmology, University Miguel Hernandez, Alicante, Spain, founder of Vissum Miranza, Alicante, Spain and the Jorge Alió Foundation for the Prevention of Blindness. 

 His main research interests include lens, refractive and corneal surgery. Pioneer in the area of multifocal, accommodative and toric IOLs, excimer laser refractive surgery, phakic IOLs and more recently corneal regeneration surgery. Author of over 777 peer review papers in indexed journals, 431 chapters, 97 books, 2813 communications in international congresses. 2023 Hirsch factor (h-factor) of 72 (Scopus). 

LXIII chair of the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis, XLIX chair of the European Academy of Ophthalmology, President of the ISRS/AAO (2006-2008) member of the American Ophthalmological Society, member of the Board of the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons and has received over 103 international and national awards. 

He is the creator and Director of the online International Specialization Course in Refractive, Cornea and Lens Surgery (University Miguel Hernandez). Fellows from all over the world come to his research facilities to be trained under his supervision.

Dr. Laura Maubon (United Kingdom)

• bio pending



Dr. Helena Filipe MD MMEd (Portugal)

• Webinar Coordinator, Portuguese-language area, Campus PAAO
• PAAO Vice President, 2022-2025
• Hospital Egas Moniz, West Lisbon Hospitals Center (Portuguese NHS), Unit of Ocular Surface and Cornea
• Egas Moniz Interdisciplinary Research Center (CiiEM)


Click here to register for the live Zoom webinar

After the live webinar, you will need to log into your CampusPAAO account and register for the webinar to be able to see the recordings. Please note that zoom registrations do not transfer to CampusPAAO. /
Después del webinar en vivo, tendrá que acceder a su cuenta de CampusPAAO y registrarse en el webinar para poder ver las grabaciones. Tenga en cuenta que las inscripciones de Zoom no se transfieren a CampusPAAO. /
Após o webinar ao vivo, você precisará entrar em sua conta CampusPAAO e registrar-se para o webinar para poder ver as gravações. Observe que os registros de Zoom não são transferidos para o CampusPAAO.